Parliamentary Program

About this program

The Democracy Development Program (DDP) exists to deepen the practice of democracy in South Africa. It seeks to build strong and active communities that can hold those in power to account. The programme seeks to promote civil society engagement with the KZN provincial legislature towards deepening accountability and promotion of good governance in the process, promote public engagement with the legislature through its various programmes.

The KwaZulu-Natal Legislature is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa. Based in Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, the KZN Legislature is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public participation, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive. The KZN Legislature consists of 80 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and Members of the KZN Cabinet are appointed from these Members.


To foster transparency and accountability of KZN legislature by promoting the participation of citizens and civil society in the work of portfolio committees.


  • To enhance citizen engagement with portfolio committees of KZN Parliament
  • To deepen accountability through civil society engagement with portfolio committees
  • To enhance civil society and political parties’ cooperation in responding to various bills


The programme focuses on the KZN legislature


a) Transformational dialogues approach between civil society and political parties.

b) Capacity building initiatives – training, seminars, and workshops.

c) Research on bills.


a) Research

b) Capacity building workshops.


  1. Civil Society
  2. Political parties
  3. Citizens
  4. Portfolio Committees
November 17, 2021


Briefing by the Department of COGTA and on the cost of boreholes at uMzinyathi District Municipality and Briefing on Departmental reports (2nd Quarter Report 2021/22 (Financial […]
October 20, 2021

“The Role of Legislatures’ Oversight Committees in Deepening Democracy and Accountability for the use of Public Resources in South Africa”

By: Nyasha Mcbride Mpani Introduction Chapter 4 of  the Constitution[1] spells out the mandate of Parliament which is of protecting the Constitution and promoting democratic governance […]
October 20, 2021

Portfolio on co-operative governance & traditional affairs (COGTA)

Briefing by the Department of COGTA and MEC on the status of boreholes, report on beneficiaries of EPWP and on 1st Quarter Report 2021/22 (Financial and […]
September 3, 2021

Portfolio on Co-Operative Governance & Traditional Affairs (COGTA)

 Briefing by the Department of COGTA and MEC on the status of boreholes, report on beneficiaries of EPWP and on 1st Quarter Report 2021/22 (Financial and […]
August 22, 2017

Adhoc Committee on the Funding of Political Parties Bill

On 16 August 2017, DDP Programmes Manager Dr Paul Kariuki presented civ-il society’s position on political party funding to the Adhoc Committee at Parliament in Cape […]